Rubicon Forum
Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.
April 19, 2014, 12:03:53 PM

Login with username, password and session length
Search:     Advanced search
Forum users can use the crate icon (or [level] and [/level] tags) when writing a post, to make a direct link to a level.
5461 Posts in 238 Topics by 2430 Members
Latest Member: Shreyas
* Home Help Search Login Register
+  Rubicon Forum
|-+  Playing the Game
| |-+  Open Design Challenges (Moderator: Bucky)
| | |-+  Impossible Levels
« previous next »
Pages: 1 [2] 3 4 Print
Author Topic: Impossible Levels  (Read 30635 times)
MagiMaster
Engineer
****
Posts: 103


View Profile
Re: Impossible Levels
« Reply #15 on: January 14, 2007, 02:29:12 AM »

Yeah.  I think they'd all fall under lack of information though.

One other thought, would having critical components too close together fall under lack of space?
Logged
Bucky
Moderator
Director
*****
Posts: 333


View Profile
Re: Impossible Levels
« Reply #16 on: January 14, 2007, 03:09:21 AM »


Hmm... You could be right, although what about the case where the information is the value of a crate?  Can that information be moved faster than the crate? 

Yes; see jymoveg but replace the adders with a long line of crates and stick a larger distance in the middle.
Logged

That is the most ingenious method of solving an impossible puzzle that I have ever seen.
MagiMaster
Engineer
****
Posts: 103


View Profile
Re: Impossible Levels
« Reply #17 on: January 14, 2007, 03:27:47 AM »

Hmm... I see.  I'll have to rewrite that part on speed of light then.  But what would you call the maximum speed an object could be moved at?  Terminal velocity?  (For example, if there were only one crate, you'd have to move it (copy it, etc.) to solve the puzzle.
Logged
lienne
Designer
***
Posts: 34


View Profile
Re: Impossible Levels
« Reply #18 on: January 14, 2007, 10:16:48 PM »

parapil - I realized after saving that it's probably easily solvable, but what about if you remove the ? crates from the top corners? And if so, which category would it fall under?
Logged
MagiMaster
Engineer
****
Posts: 103


View Profile
Re: Impossible Levels
« Reply #19 on: January 14, 2007, 11:50:24 PM »

Without the ? crates, it'd fall under trivially impossible for lack of a component.

Edit: What do you think COPUVOD would count as?
« Last Edit: January 15, 2007, 12:11:00 AM by MagiMaster » Logged
Bucky
Moderator
Director
*****
Posts: 333


View Profile
Re: Impossible Levels
« Reply #20 on: January 15, 2007, 03:21:12 AM »


Edit: What do you think COPUVOD would count as?

easy. (see hyrocuf).

If a small modification to the puzzle were made, it would be trivially impossible (no way to get at necessary crate)
« Last Edit: January 15, 2007, 03:25:10 AM by Bucky » Logged

That is the most ingenious method of solving an impossible puzzle that I have ever seen.
MagiMaster
Engineer
****
Posts: 103


View Profile
Re: Impossible Levels
« Reply #21 on: January 15, 2007, 04:35:51 AM »

Actually, I left that in there on purpose so I could add it as one of my regular puzzles.  Is there no way to get at the crates without using the copier though?
Logged
Bucky
Moderator
Director
*****
Posts: 333


View Profile
Re: Impossible Levels
« Reply #22 on: January 15, 2007, 05:37:28 AM »

Actually, I left that in there on purpose so I could add it as one of my regular puzzles.  Is there no way to get at the crates without using the copier though?

Correct.  There is no way of lifting a crate without placing a component on the same row as the crate or the one above it.
Logged

That is the most ingenious method of solving an impossible puzzle that I have ever seen.
jnz
Director
*****
Posts: 493


View Profile
Re: Impossible Levels
« Reply #23 on: January 18, 2007, 03:07:03 AM »

How about pecebab?  Have I succeeded this time in making something impossible to solve?  If so, what category does it belong in?
Logged
MagiMaster
Engineer
****
Posts: 103


View Profile
Re: Impossible Levels
« Reply #24 on: January 18, 2007, 06:42:16 AM »

Yeah, that seems to be impossible.  I'd classify it as trivial for lack of a component, but maybe not.
Logged
Gameman
Designer
***
Posts: 57


View Profile
Re: Impossible Levels
« Reply #25 on: January 18, 2007, 10:24:56 AM »

tyfabet may be impossible.  I'm not sure if it falls into one of your categories.
fiburef may embarass you...
Logged

Yugioh duel; i play exodia, you lose. Nope, I play Rubicon contractor! *gets run over by dozer pushing a 4 crate*
MagiMaster
Engineer
****
Posts: 103


View Profile
Re: Impossible Levels
« Reply #26 on: January 19, 2007, 06:59:18 AM »

What about Gameman's HOVAGYH?
Logged
Bucky
Moderator
Director
*****
Posts: 333


View Profile
Re: Impossible Levels
« Reply #27 on: January 19, 2007, 10:56:55 PM »

What about Gameman's HOVAGYH?

Lack of (lateral) space
Logged

That is the most ingenious method of solving an impossible puzzle that I have ever seen.
Gameman
Designer
***
Posts: 57


View Profile
Re: Impossible Levels
« Reply #28 on: January 27, 2007, 01:44:58 PM »

What about Gameman's HOVAGYH?
its solvable. but not without an e gate. and the winches are flipped. and i fix it.
Logged

Yugioh duel; i play exodia, you lose. Nope, I play Rubicon contractor! *gets run over by dozer pushing a 4 crate*
Gameman
Designer
***
Posts: 57


View Profile
Re: Impossible Levels
« Reply #29 on: January 27, 2007, 07:00:08 PM »

and maybe neburil?its probably impossible!
Logged

Yugioh duel; i play exodia, you lose. Nope, I play Rubicon contractor! *gets run over by dozer pushing a 4 crate*
Pages: 1 [2] 3 4 Print 
« previous next »
Jump to:  

Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.0.22 | SMF © 2006-2011, Simple Machines LLC Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!