HomePage | RecentChanges | Preferences

The Encyclopaedia has now been locked; contributors must log in to make changes. [more]
Up until the relase of the Chalk Farm '84 ruleset there were four quadrants in the standard London Underground map, corresponding to North-West, South-West, North-East, and South-East, numbered one to four respectively. The boundaries are worked out on the standard London Transport map, rather than on the actual ground, so they do not always relate to physical compass points. Moves crossing quadrants must always use one interchange/level additional to any interchange levels you are already adding for your journey. Quadrants can also be affected by the usual and unusual modifiers. [IMCS Ref: Concepts and Definitions pg. 899–904]


Up until the time of the Chalk Farm '84 ruleset, fare zones were orthogonal to the four quadrants, but by the time the Holland Park 2000 ruleset was released the growing size of the underground network had made the introduction of a fifth quadrant necessary. This means that post-Holland Park 2000, quadrant five now approximately coincides with fare zone one, while quadrants 1–4 have mostly been reinstated to their initial configurations.

During much of the 16-year interim period between these two rulesets, quadrant five was an asymmetrical addition largely coinciding with the then-foetal Docklands Light Railway and Jubilee Line Extensions, and rulesets released during this period often encountered a variety of curious side-effects. It is no coincidence that the helical stresses routinely encountered during this time forced far more rigorous study of spin, and this enhanced the understanding of many areas of the game.


Categories: A to Z

HomePage | RecentChanges | Preferences
This page is read-only | View other revisions
Last edited March 18, 2009 2:41 pm by Simons Mith (diff)